Implementing Enterprise 2.0 – Integration and Assimilation

A follow up on one of my latest blogs; a perplexing dilemma with Enterprise 2.0 exists when you consider many common problems with implementing new processes into an organisation. The big one is simple resistance to change.

Schmaltz sums it up quite nicely, pointing the finger at barriers including:

1) applications not part of user’s workflow
2) time effort > personal value
3) complex applications

To elaborate, the biggest reasons why a user may not take to an Enterprise 2.0 tool is that the application does not fit in with the traditional way of doing their job. That the effort they put in using the 2.0 tool does not equally reward them with value towards completing the work they do, or that the applications are simply too complex to use.

Christoph Schmaltz systematically highlights a number of barriers between an organisation and the successful implementation of Enterprise 2.0 technologies, discusses possible solutions to these ‘problems’ and suggests a solution to nurturing the adoption of these tools.

Put simply, Schmaltz explains that Email needs to be viewed and implemented as an important part of implenting 2.0 – citing that interactivity needs to exist between the two because companies are already heavily email oriented, as are their employees. Schmaltz also analyses a number of common Web 2.0 tools and suggests means of integrating Email.

I’ve found this mode of combing 1.0 and 2.0 technology to be quite effective. For at least a year now I’ve been used to receiving automatically emailed notifications from google groups to say that somebody has made  a new post or a new thread on our google group space.

Maximising what can be done from the email is important too. Facebook’s capability to ‘reply to a comment in an email with a reply should be expected in other 2.0 tools such as wiki’s as well. It simply quickens the process and simplifies that situation. I enjoy this situation for both google groups and Facebook.

The idea here is that we’re resistant to change. but it can be swayed with this careful assimilation of technology that ideally, should be embraced by everyone. I must admit, I’m a little skeptical – this can’t be the only technique employed to encourage adoption – however, integrating email services has definitely worked for me.

4 Responses to Implementing Enterprise 2.0 – Integration and Assimilation

  1. Shaun Bergin says:

    Enjoyed your post Anthony, and i completely agree. I know adopting new technologies is not a problem for myself as it has been a common occurrence for years like most Y gens, but the daunting task of learning these technologies does seem too much for at least half my family. I think the throw away society we live in seems existent for technology as much as it does material items, therefore turning people off the learning these technologies even more.

  2. Ryan Cornett says:

    I totally agree with you on this point. Email use to be my primary (electronic) contact point. So when I started to think about joining forums and social media sites I wasn’t sure how I was going to keep up with everything that I wanted to follow.

    With the ability to subscribe to threads on forums and receive notifications from facebook I find that it saves a lot of time. When I get home, everything I want to know about is sitting in my inbox. Love it!

    However, there is one issue I have come across. Lets have a look at my facebook folder in my email for example, there are 5453 emails in that folder. Once you add up all the folders I have, with thousands of notifications, it takes up a lot of space (it is rather painful formatting my computer! Takes days to download my emails).

    With this in mind after having a look of Merlin Mann’s idea of inbox zero during one of the lectures I thought I would give it ago. I sat there, had a look at all the messages and couldn’t come to deleting them! Facebook notifications, yeah I could delete because its pretty easy to find things on there (to an extent). That aside, all my other notifications from forums I find rather valuable, if I want to look back on something all I need to do is simply search my mailbox and it will, on most occasions, lead me to the thread I wanted to review.

    So really the question is, how fair does email really integrate into these tools? For me it is a one stop shop where all my interests are collaborated into on place.

    Brilliant post, keep them coming 🙂

  3. leighdixon says:

    Anthony – I agree on your comments that one of the biggest issues is change management. In industries like Government where there can be great disparity between the tech-savvy and older workers, new technologies can have much bigger impacts internally than they may in other organisations. Keeping it simple is the key, and integrating it into existing processes as much as possible. Where email works well is it keeps the record keepers happy. A clean inbox is a whole other issue!

  4. I strongly agree with you Anthony on your point of view which is “Facebook’s capability to ‘reply to a comment in an email with a reply should be expected in other 2.0 tools such as wiki’s as well”.

    cheers,
    Mohammed

Leave a Reply

